University at Buffalo Student Association Inc. Advocacy Committee Meeting

February 4, 2025 - 5:30 PM

Student Union Room 378, University at Buffalo North Campus Amherst, NY 14260

Present

Louis Poon*, SA Treasurer; Gavin Krauciunas, Senate Chairperson; Joseph Pawelczyk, Senator; Jack Koscinski, Senator; Saqib Khan, Senator; Veronica Faltisco, Academic Council Coordinator; Aidan Sumrall**, Special Interest Council Coordinator/Advocacy Committee Chairperson; Tyler Herman, SA Student Affairs Director.

Asterisk (*) indicates member arrived late or left prior to adjournment.

Double-asterisk (**) indicates member's title changed during the meeting.

Absents

Kayla Yan, Senator; TJ Ledwith, Senator; Sherry Smith, Senator; Nithya Santhapriya, Engineering Council Coordinator.

Call to Order

Gavin Krauciunas, Senate Chairperson, calls the meeting to order at 5:36 PM.

Gavin Krauciunas, Senate Chairperson, proceeds to call the roll.

Louis Poon Absent Gavin Krauciunas Present Kayla Yan Absent TJ Ledwith Absent Joseph Pawelczyk Present Jack Koscinski Present Sagib Khan Present **Sherry Smith** Absent Veronica Faltisco Present Nithya Santhapriya Absent

Aidan Sumrall Present

Tyler Herman Present

7 Present, 5 Absent

Finding a quorum is present, the Advocacy Committee proceeds with the order of business.

Mark Sorel, SA Administrative Director, addresses the Advocacy Committee.

Approval of Minutes

None.

Old Business

None.

New Business

Gavin Krauciunas, Senate Chairperson, opens the Advocacy Committee Chairperson election and calls for nominations.

Aidan Sumrall nominates themselves.

Joseph Pawelczyk nominates themselves.

Gavin Krauciunas nominates themselves.

Hearing no other nominations, Gavin Krauciunas, Senate Chairperson, closes nominations and moves into nominee statements.

Aidan Sumrall addresses the Advocacy Committee.

Joseph Pawelczyk addresses the Advocacy Committee.

Gavin Krauciunas addresses the Advocacy Committee.

The Advocacy Committee automatically enters a question-and-answer period.

Louis Poon, SA Treasurer, enters at 5:54 PM.

Hearing no other questions, Gavin Krauciunas, Senate Chairperson, closes the question-and-answer period.

Gavin Krauciunas, Senate Chairperson, proceeds to call the roll for the Advocacy Committee Chairperson election.

Louis Poon Aidan Sumrall

Gavin Krauciunas Gavin Krauciunas

Joseph Pawelczyk Joseph Pawelczyk

Jack Koscinski Gavin Krauciunas

Sagib Khan Aidan Sumrall

Veronica Faltisco Aidan Sumrall

Aidan Sumrall Aidan Sumrall

Tyler Herman Aidan Sumrall

5 Aidan Sumrall, 2 Gavin Krauciunas, 1 Joseph Pawelczyk, 0 Abstain

Aidan Sumrall, Advocacy Committee Chairperson, assumes the chair.

Aidan Sumrall, Advocacy Committee Chairperson, introduces discussion on Campus Dining and Transportation Services.

Louis Poon, SA Treasurer, leaves at 6:17 PM.

Aidan Sumrall, Advocacy Committee Chairperson, introduces discussion on National Transit Employee Appreciation Day (03/18/2025).

Aidan Sumrall, Advocacy Committee Chairperson, introduces discussion on publicizing new VP roles.

Aidan Sumrall, Advocacy Committee Chairperson, introduces discussion on student safety and security.

Tyler Herman, Student Affairs Director, leaves at 6:31 PM.

Aidan Sumrall, Advocacy Committee Chairperson, introduces open discussion.

Adjournment

Motion to adjourn the Advocacy Committee meeting by Joseph Pawelczyk; second Veronica Faltisco.

Without objection, motion passes with unanimous consent.

^{**}Result: Aidan Sumrall is elected Advocacy Committee Chairperson.**

^{**}Result: Meeting is adjourned at 6:34 PM.**